FTP Advisory Committee

​The Advisory Committee (AC) is FTP’s governing body responsible for formulating and agreeing a common perspective on research and innovation priorities for the European forest-based sector. It is responsible for providing recommendations to the FTP Secretariat for effective and constructive advocacy work on behalf of the sector at EU level.

The FTP AC is led by the Advisory Committee Chair, who is elected by the Chairpersons of the FTP National Support Groups (NSGs) and given a two-year mandate.


Torgny Persson
Research and Innovation Director, Swedish Forest Industries Federation (SFIF)

Leo Arpa
Co-Chair NSG Austria
Head of R&D Paper – Mondi Group

Representatives of major stakeholder groups

  • 25 NSGs that speak for the national interests of EU Member States, Norway, Switzerland and Russia. 
  • Scientific community, represented by organizations dedicated to research in the fields of forestry and forest management (European Forest Institute – EFI);  woodworking industry (InnovaWood); and pulp and paper manufacturing (European Fibre and Paper Research Organisation – EFPRO).
  • Industrial stakeholders of the sector’s value chains, represented by the four FTP founding shareholder confederations.

The status of observer to the FTP AC is granted to representatives of the European Commission and other associations, federations and research organizations invited to join FTP AC meetings. 

Secretary to the Advisory Committee
Johan Elvnert
Managing Director, FTP